Science for Kids: The Eight Planets Facts

There are 8 planets in the Solar system, they are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Below are the facts about the 8 planets that you need to know.

1. Mercury facts

Mercury is the closest planet to the Sun. It doesn’t have any moons and rings. Because of the distant to the sun a year on mercury it’s just 88 days long. The diameter is 4879 km that makes it the smallest planet in the solar system. Mercury has a molten core.

2. Venus facts

Venus is the second planet from the sun. It doesn’t have any moons or rings. A year on Venus takes 225 earth days. A day on Venus lasts longer than a year. It spins the other the opposite way to the other planets. Venus is 12,104km in the diameter.

3. Earth facts

Earth is the third planet from the sun. It has 1 moon and has no rings. The moon circles around the earth once every 27.3 days. A year on Earth takes 365 days.  The diameter is 12,756 km. 70% of the Earth’s surface is covered in water.

 4. Mars facts

Mars is the forth planet from the sun. Its also known as the Red Planet because of the reddish dust scattered over vast areas of its surface. The diameter is 6,792 km. It has 2 moons but has no rings. A year on Mars is 687 days (1.9 years).

5. Jupiter facts

Jupiter is the fifth planet from the sun. It is the biggest planet of all with the diameter is 142,984 km. It needs 1300 Earths to fit inside this planet. It takes almost 12 years to orbit the sun. It has 67 moons and 4 rings. It has a faint ring of dust and its surface is covered by belts of swirling gas clouds. One distinct feature is its Great Red Spot, which is a whirling storm in the atmosphere over 24,000km long.

6. Saturn facts

Saturn is the sixth planet from the sun. It’s the most spectacular of all the planets. It can be seen with the naked eyes it has coloured rings and banded surface. The rings are made up of millions of tiny ice coated fragments. It has 62 moons and 30 rings, the biggest moon is called the Titan that half as big as the earth. The diameter is 120,536km. A year on Saturn is 10,756 days (29.5 years).

7. Uranus facts

Uranus is the seventh planet from the sun. It has 27 moons and 13 rings, the diameter is 51,118 km. A year on Uranus is 30,687 days (84.0 years). Uranus is often referred to as an “ice giant” planet. The surface temperatures may drop to -214 C.

8. Neptune facts
Neptune is the eighth planet from the sun. It has a pale bluish disc simular to Jupiter’s Great Red Spot. It has 14 moons and 5 rings, the diameter is 49,528 km. A year on Neptune is 60,190 days (164.8 years).


Compiled by N (8 y.o), edited by Mum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.