Islam for Kids; The Five Pillars of Islam.

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

Normally, we have an Islamic Studies every Friday. We talked about the five Pillars of Islam last Friday. I hope this article will inspire you to discuss about the five Pillars of Islam with your children.

The Five Pillars of Islam.

There are five pillars in Islam. The five pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.

  • Shahadah:

The 1st pillar is Shahadah. The Shahadah is the Muslim declaration of Faith. In Arabic [ʾašhadu ʾan] lā ilāha illā-llāh, wa [ʾašhadu ʾanna] muḥammadan rasūlu-llāh. In English, “[I testify that] there is no god (ilah) but God (Allah), and [I testify that] Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

  • Salaah:

The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers, that are performed five times a day. Prayers are said at dawn, mid-day, late-afternoon, sunset and nightfall. Each salaah is performed facing towards the Kaba. Salaah is compulsory on all Muslims. Prayers help Muslims communicate and worship Allah. Prayers are said in Arabic and Wudhu is performed before praying to spiritual clean and purify the soul. In Salaah, Muslims follow set movements called rakaahs which include kneeling, bowing down and sitting.

The Prophet said, “The prayer offered in congregation is twenty five times more superior (in reward) to the prayer offered alone in one’s house or in a business centre.”

  • Zakaat:

The 3rd pillar is Zakaat. Zakaat is charity given to the poor and needy. Zakat means “purification.” Each Muslim calculates his or her own zakah individually. The Prophet said, “Even meeting your brother with a cheerful face is an act of charity.” The Prophet also said: “Charity is a necessity for every Muslim.”

  • Saum:

The 4th pillar is Saum. Saum is fasting in the 9th month of the Islamic calendar which is in the month of Ramadhan. It is an obligatory act for all adults and children from the age of puberty. It helps develop self-control and helps us to overcome selfishness, greed and laziness. Muslims abstain from eating and drinking from dawn to sunset.

  • Hajj:

The 5th pillar is Hajj. Hajj is to visit the Kaba, in Mecca during the Islamic month of Dzul – Hijjah. It is obligatory for every Muslim to perform Hajj once in his, or her, lifetime unless there is no financial or physical ability. Everyone wears white clothes to show we are all equal.


Wassalamu’alaikum wr wb.

  • Video Version.


Note: The ads that you see is not part of my video. I do not get any benefit from the ads. Please, close it. Jazakallah.

2 thoughts on “Islam for Kids; The Five Pillars of Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.