Islam for Kids; The Five Pillars of Islam.

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

Normally, we have an Islamic Studies every Friday. We talked about the five Pillars of Islam last Friday. I hope this article will inspire you to discuss about the five Pillars of Islam with your children.

The Five Pillars of Islam.

There are five pillars in Islam. The five pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.

  • Shahadah:

The 1st pillar is Shahadah. The Shahadah is the Muslim declaration of Faith. In Arabic [ʾašhadu ʾan] lā ilāha illā-llāh, wa [ʾašhadu ʾanna] muḥammadan rasūlu-llāh. In English, “[I testify that] there is no god (ilah) but God (Allah), and [I testify that] Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

  • Salaah:

The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers, that are performed five times a day. Continue reading