Ramadan Activities for Kids

Ramadan Activities created by Umm Safiyyah Madeehah bint Nafees ibn Ihsaan Ahmad

1. Volume 1

Please click on the link above for a child-friendly introduction to fasting in Ramadaan – Volume 1.

2. Volume 2

Please click on the link above for  Volume 2 of the fasting series which discusses how we know when to begin fasting, those who are exempt from fasting and what is to be done by those people instead.

3. Volume 3

Please click on the link above for the next part of the fasting series for young children.  It covers what should and shouldn’t be done during the fast as well as the times for starting and ending the fast.  An updated version of this document will be uploaded when it is ready in 3shaa Allaah.

4. Volume 4

Please click on the link above for Part 4 of this series.  It mentions some of the things often thought to be forbidden whilst fasting but which are in fact allowed.

Original link: https://islaam4kids.wordpress.com/

The Months in the Islamic Calendar for Kids

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

It’s never too late to teach our children about The Islamic Calendar.

The Islamic Calendar is based on a Lunar System while the Calendar that we commonly use now (January to December) is based on a Solar System. Continue reading

Al Malaikah | The Angels; The Names and The Responsibilities

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala has Created many different creatures. Some of them we can see, like the beautiful birds in the sky, the Elephants in the wild, the fish in the sea, and you and me.

But Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala has also made creatures that we cannot see! Do you know what they are?

One type of Creature that we cannot see are called Al Malaikah or the Angels. They are made of light. Continue reading

Islam for Kids; The Five Pillars of Islam.

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

Normally, we have an Islamic Studies every Friday. We talked about the five Pillars of Islam last Friday. I hope this article will inspire you to discuss about the five Pillars of Islam with your children.

The Five Pillars of Islam.

There are five pillars in Islam. The five pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.

  • Shahadah:

The 1st pillar is Shahadah. The Shahadah is the Muslim declaration of Faith. In Arabic [ʾašhadu ʾan] lā ilāha illā-llāh, wa [ʾašhadu ʾanna] muḥammadan rasūlu-llāh. In English, “[I testify that] there is no god (ilah) but God (Allah), and [I testify that] Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

  • Salaah:

The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers, that are performed five times a day. Continue reading