Zakah al- Fitr

My ramadan record1. Meaning
Zakah al-Fitr is often referred to as Sadaqah al-Fitr. The word Fitr means the same as Iftar, breaking a fast and it comes from the same root word as Futur which means breakfast. Thus, Islamically, Zakah al-Fitr is the name given to charity which is distributed at the end of the fast of Ramadan.

2. Classification
Sadaqah al-Fitr is a duty which is Wajib on every Muslim, whether Continue reading

Islam for Kids; The Five Pillars of Islam.

Assalamu’alaikum wr wb,

Normally, we have an Islamic Studies every Friday. We talked about the five Pillars of Islam last Friday. I hope this article will inspire you to discuss about the five Pillars of Islam with your children.

The Five Pillars of Islam.

There are five pillars in Islam. The five pillars of Islam are duties which are obligatory on all Muslims. These duties are Shahadah, Salaah, Zakaat, Saum and Hajj.

  • Shahadah:

The 1st pillar is Shahadah. The Shahadah is the Muslim declaration of Faith. In Arabic [ʾašhadu ʾan] lā ilāha illā-llāh, wa [ʾašhadu ʾanna] muḥammadan rasūlu-llāh. In English, “[I testify that] there is no god (ilah) but God (Allah), and [I testify that] Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

  • Salaah:

The 2nd pillar is Salaah. Salaah is prayers, that are performed five times a day. Continue reading